

# 2025 Sigma Xi Research Award Winners Georgia Institute of Technology Chapter

## **FACULTY AWARDS**

**Sustained Research Award** (with a certificate, a plaque, and \$6,000)

• Mark Prausnitz, Regents' Professor, J. Erskine Love Jr. Chair in Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, and Director of the Center for Drug Design, Development and Delivery

Committee: Facundo Fernández (Chem), Chair; Srinivas Garimella (ME), Dimitri N. Mavris (AE), Patricia Mokhtarian (CEE), Jianjun Shi (ISyE)

**Best Paper Award** (with a certificate, a plaque, and \$3,000 each)

- Aaron Young, Associate Professor, George W. Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering
- Mark Borodovsky, Regents' Professor, Director of the Center for Bioinformatics and Computational Genomics, Wallace H. Coulter Department of Biomedical Engineering

Committee: Roman O. Grigoriev (Phys), Chair; Shu Jia (BME), Ali Adibi (ECE)

**Young Faculty Award** (with a certificate, a plaque, and \$3,000 each)

- Ahmet Coskun, Assistant Professor, Bernie Marcus Early Career Professorship, Wallace H. Coulter Department of Biomedical Engineering
- Pengfei Liu, Assistant Professor, School of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences

Committee: Matthew McDowell (ME), Chair; Yue Chen (BME), Zeb Rocklin (Phys)

### STUDENT AWARDS

## **Best Ph.D. Thesis Award** (with a certificate, a plaque, and \$1000 each)

- Anthony Gunderman, Department of Biomedical Engineering, Advisor: Yue Chen
- Shancong Mou, School of Industrial and Systems Engineering, Advisor: Jianjun Shi
- Sushil Varma, School of Industrial and Systems Engineering, Advisor: Siva Theja Maguluri
- Siyu Zhou, Department of Biomedical Engineering, Advisor: Younan Xia
- Yuqing Wang, School of Mathematics, Advisor: Molei Tao
- Fabia Farlin Athena, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Advisor: Eric Vogel
- Xiaoliang Yan, School of Mechanical Engineering, Advisor: Shreyes Melkote
- Zijie (Jay) Wang, School of Computational Science and Engineering, Advisor: Duen Horng Chau
- Yumeng Zhao, School of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Advisor: Sheng Dai
- Chiyu Yang, School of Mechanical Engineering, Advisor: Zhuomin Zhang

Committee: Wenshan Cai (ECE), Chair; Ronghu Wu (ChB), Santosh Vempala (CS), Xing Xie (CEE), Ravi, Kane (ChBE), Arash Yavari (CEE), Roshan Joseph (ISyE), Sourabh Saha (ME)

#### **Best M.S. Thesis Award** (with a certificate, a plaque, and \$500)

Nikolas Alansson, School of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Advisor: Lynn Kamerlin

Committee: Cristina Riso (AE), Chair; Ryan Sherman (CEE), Julie Champion (ChBE)

## **Best Undergraduate Research Award** (with a certificate, a plaque, and \$250)

- Alice Heranval, School of Physics, Advisor: Laura Cadonati
- Reid Cabe, School of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Advisor: Donald R. Webster

Committee: Julie Champion (ChBE), Chair; Cristina Riso (AE), Ryan Sherman (CEE)